Author Topic: Permit or License For Fishing in Westchester.  (Read 2388 times)

msnger

Permit or License For Fishing in Westchester.
« on: August 13, 2009, 09:26:33 PM »
Hey guys I'm new to fishing, I was wondering if go fishing in salt water in Westchester do I need a permit or license?
thanks in advance.

KenH

• Global Moderator
  • Star Member
  • Forum All Star
Re: Permit or License For Fishing in Westchester.
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 10:47:38 PM »
Seems like after Oct 1, 2009 a Salt Water Fishing License is required.
But not now.

http://www.dec.ny.gov/permits/54950.html

But you still have to watch out for all the regulations:

http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/7894.html

VinnyH

• Webmaster
  • Administrator
  • Forum All Star
  • I need to Fish!
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2009, 06:02:56 PM »
msnger,
Welcome to the forums. Just to add to your point about being new to fishing, you will need a license to freshwater fish also. The license has been $19. a year but goes up soon to $29. a year. Town halls usually sell them and Bob's Sport & TAckle in Katonah sells them.

Also you need an access permit which is free to be on the NYC watershed property. That link is on my frontpage.

Best Always,
Vinny
http://www.WestchesterFishing.com

Tom

• Star Member
  • Forum All Star
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2012, 02:47:32 PM »
Before October 1, 2012 you will need to get a new annual fishing license. The fresh water license is $29/year and if you check the right box on the attached application the salt water license is free. Getting both licenses via the web is fast and easy. See attached.
Tom

https://nyfgisales.appsolgrp.com/fgnyia/html/index.jsp

KenH

• Global Moderator
  • Star Member
  • Forum All Star
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2012, 02:14:26 PM »